Frequently Asked Questions
Experienced DUI Attorney Serving Olathe and all of Johnson County
- Will my driver's license be suspended for a DUI/DWI?
Yes. You have to request a driver's license hearing within 14 days
in Kansas and 15 days in Missouri or your license will automatically be
Can I get a Restricted Driver's License to drive to work or school?
No, not in Kansas. You may in Missouri if you work or live in Missouri
or have a Missouri driver's license.
How do I get my license reinstated?
Stay in contact with my office and we will assist in having your license
reinstated. You may need to pay a reinstatement fee, complete the license
re-examination and file an SR-22 insurance.
If I have a Missouri driver's license and receive a DUI in Kansas,
will my license be suspended?
No, not for an administrative decision. But your license could be suspended
in Missouri if you receive a conviction in Kansas for the DUI.
Do I have to take the Standard Field Sobriety Test, Preliminary Breath
Test or Breath Test?
No. If you have ever been previously arrested for a DUI, you should refuse
the standard field sobriety tests, the preliminary breath test and the
breath test. Many people are confused because they are asked to take both
the preliminary breath test and the breath test. I have numerous clients
who take the preliminary breath test but then refuse the breath test because
they believe they have already cooperated.
If I post bond, will I get that bond money back?
Only if it is a cash bond. If you posted bond with a bondsman, that money
has been spent as a premium.
Am I facing a jail term if convicted of a DUI?
On a first offense, you can avoid serving jail by completing Diversion.
On a second-time DUI, you are facing a minimum of five days in jail. There
is the possibility of avoiding most of the jail sentence by completing
a 48-hour Weekend Intervention Program followed by house arrest. On a
third-time DUI, you are facing a felony, which results in a minimum of
90 days in jail.
Will I have to take color code urinalysis?
Depending on where you were arrested. Hiring the right attorney can affect
the level of supervision on Diversion or Probation.
Can I get my DUI conviction taken off my record or have it expunged?
Only if you were convicted prior to July 2006. You would have to complete
your term of Diversion or Probation and three to five years have elapsed
since that time without any arrests.
For more answers to your questions,
contact an Olathe DUI attorney at The Law Office of John Harvell today!