Call for a Free Consultation 888.879.7087
Skilled & Experienced DUI Defense

Minor in Possession in Olathe

Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor in Johnson County

Minor in possession charges can be levied at any individual under the age of 21 in Kansas who has been arrested for any of the following:

  • Attempting to purchase alcohol
  • Purchasing alcohol
  • Consumption of alcohol
  • Possession of alcohol

Such a charge is a violation of Kansas' underage drinking laws, and can be met with stiff penalties, including up to 1 month in jail, $500 fine, 40 hours of community service, mandatory attendance in an alcohol education program, and a driver's license suspension of up to 1 year. A conviction on these charges can have serious ramifications to your child's future, including an inability to obtain gainful employment or entrance into a reputable college. If your child has been arrested for a minor in possession or consumption of alcohol charge, it is important you contact a knowledgeable Olathe criminal defense attorney who can represent them in court and protect their rights.

Olathe Attorney for Minor in Possession Charges

Any parent wants the best for their child and their child's future. A minor in possession charge for your child can seriously endanger the possibility of a good future for them, and can cause pain and hardship for the entire family. An experienced attorney can fight for your child's rights in court, by exposing any mistakes, errors, or rights violations made by the arresting officers or the prosecution. My law firm, John E. Harvell, P.A., has successfully defended many individuals in their alcohol-related criminal cases. I can build a strong defense for your child in his minor in possession case, and greatly increase the likelihood of a lessening of the charges against him, if not a complete dismissal.

Minor in Possession/Minor in Consumption of Alcohol KSA 41-727

Persons under the age of 21 can be charged in either a municipal/city court or as a juvenile in state court. It is illegal for juveniles to either possess or consume alcohol. The police have made it a practice to saturate juvenile parties on holidays frequently when college students are home from school. The police are also known to do surveillance in liquor stores or parking lots of establishments that serve alcohol.

A person convicted of a Minor in Possession or Minor in Consumption of Alcohol will be facing a 30-day suspension of the driver's license. For a second offense, it is a 60-day suspension; a third offense is a 90-day suspension of a driver's license. In addition, cities like Overland Park charge excessive probation fees and fines and those amounts can total in excess of $1,000. It used to be that these type of charges were not considered very serious but because of the way most courts are handling these matters, these issues have become much more serious in nature.

If you have been charged with a minor in possession offense, contact an Olathe criminal attorney today to discuss the details of your case.

Why Choose John Harvell

  • Nearly 30 years representing clients throughout Kansas

  • Former prosecutor, understanding both sides of the courtoom

  • Highly knowledgeable regarding all major updates to Kansas DUI laws

  • Build compelling defense strategies that more effectively protect my clients' rights

Client Testimonials

  • “I am very glad that we went to him with our troubles and would go to him again if we needed to.”

    TB

  • “I have been very pleased with John’s professionalism and understanding and could not have chosen a better lawyer.”

    AH

  • “very reassuring, confident, and personally invested in helping me with the legal issues”

    MW

  • “John was diligent and hard working to provide a positive experience and outcome for my case.”

    GG

  • “Mr. Harvell filed a Motion to Suppress because of an illegal car search. Prior to trial, the charges were dismissed.”

    TC

  • “My work requires a security clearance, and it was very important that I did not receive a conviction for this matter.”

    AT

  • “Both the driver's license suspension was dismissed and found not guilty DUI.”

    AL

  • “John is always my first call when needing legal advice.”

    TH

  • “gave me time to come up with the money and got all the cases off my record.”

    RD

  • “He keeps his promises/commitments, and will do everything he can for you.”

    MF

  • “He is a miracle worker!!!”

    J.N.

  • “We certainly appreciate you guiding us through this journey.”

    JM

  • “After appearing for a hearing to revoke probation, the case was dismissed.”

    RB

  • “When anybody asks me if I know an attorney, I always have and will tell them, John Harvell.”

    CK

  • “I was able to follow his recommendations and get Diversion instead of a potential misdemeanor or felony.”

    DD

Contact Us Today

Initial Consultations Are Free & Confidential
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.